You know something in your life has changed when . . .

Your stove at dinner time looks like this:

IMG_1068

Oh don’t get all judgmental. I am not knocking at all that this is what I made for dinner last night.  In fact, I am quite impressed that I actually cooked myself dinner last night and got to eat it warm, in a chair at a leisurely pace with my 8 week old successfully bathed and asleep in his crib and I did it all by myself with the hubby ditching us for a work meeting (no judgement there either :))

 

Rather I am more amused with what is boiling away on that back burner . . . the most amazing invention ever . . . the pacifier.  Unfortunately, this one met its fate with a city street yesterday. Fortunately for me we were only feet from our apartment, with a little man in a good mood and 2 replacements  upstairs – serious crisis averted. After that little scare I am sure you can imagine what is on its way from Amazon.

 

Needless to say my life has changed quite a bit in the few months I have been radio silent from the blog.  But don’t worry – the hubby and I haven’t gone hungry and we actually haven’t eaten too many meals like the one above or out of take out food containers.

 

Before our little man showed up, I was agonizing over how (and what) we would eat for dinner. Lucky for me he decided to make a late arrival leaving me with more than enough time on my hands to agonize over this dilemma (and everything else!).  I pre-made meals with my mom, collected take out menus from every possible restaurant I could find within walking distance of our apartment, and even researched meal delivery services.

 

Funny enough, we haven’t had to really use any of the above. For one I actually have one of those hubbies who knows his way around the kitchen pretty well and can whip up some pretty delicious dinners while I am making sure our little one is fed. Secondly we managed to find ourselves a handful of easy to make recipes that we rotate through quite often (yes I will share!).

 

One of those easy to make recipes on the rotation – sautéed spinach. It happens to be a super easy, fast and delicious green veg to add to any meal plus the pre-washed spinach serves as a great salad base for a quick meal for me during the day.

 

Garlic Sautéed Spinach

Serves 2

 

1 – 2 cloves of garlic, ends removed and sliced thin

1 tbsp of olive oil

3 cups of baby spinach

Salt to taste

 

Heat 1 tbsp of oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat.  When the oil is warm add garlic and let sizzle for 30 minutes, until fragrant (be careful not to let get brown).  Add spinach and salt to taste. Sauté until leaves are wilted.

If you want to change things up you can always spice it up with a little red pepper flakes or add an asian flavor with some toasted sesame oil.

One thought on “You know something in your life has changed when . . .

Leave a Reply

