Farewell to Summer

The apples showed up in full force at the store last week and I knew. I knew that summer was fading and fading fast. And I was sad. Sad that my Frog Hollow fruit would soon disappear! If you have never had Frog Hollow fruit before it is a life changing experience. Yes it is that good!

 

So good that I actually shed tears last year when a former co-worker stole one of the last Frog Hollow peaches of summer from right under my nose.  I spent the winter dreaming of those peaches and when they showed up in the store the first week I swooned. And it wasn’t just for those peaches it was for their apricots, their plums, their cherries, their pluots, their nectarines and I even got suckered in last week for their asian pears.

I know its strange, who has ever heard of a name brand fruit? But there is something magical about their farms and their fruit. So much so that they convinced me to pay a premium for them every week and even ship them across the country so my sister and mom could share in their fruity, delicious love. I even went so far as to profess my love for their fruit to a farmer working their stand at the farmer’s market a few weeks ago. Yes I am that obsessed.

 

 

So with summer on its last few days I thought it only fitting to pay homage to my favorite thing about summer this year . . . Frog Hollow fruit and to my favorite dessert grilled Frog Hollow peaches with vanilla ice cream.

The hubby and I escaped the city several weeks ago and rented a little cabin up in Tahoe – we hiked, we swam and we BBQ-ed! In addition to making some delicious steaks and tasty kabobs we made my most favorite dessert! Honestly it tastes as good as a piece of freshly baked peach pie.

Grilled Peaches with Vanilla Ice Cream (a what I made for dinner original)

Serves 2

1 ripe peach, halved and pitted

2 scoops of vanilla ice cream (we love Strauss but if you don’t have that Hagen-Dazs is great)

Heat  a grill to low-medium heat.

Place the peach halves flesh side down on the grill and leave for about 5 to 7 minutes. You want the peach to soften up but you don’t want it too mushy.

Take off the heat and plate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yum!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

