Homemade Granola

 


The best summer’s I spent as a kid were at sleep away camp. My hubby and friends openly gasp when they hear that my parents shipped me off every summer for 8 weeks, but I loved it, and I am sure so did they. While there are so many things I loved about camp (I could go on and on) the one thing I will always remember is how excited I got when I received a white slip that said “you have a package.” I don’t want to brag, but my mom pulled together some pretty great care packages.

Well at least I thought they were cool, filled with my favorite comic books, magazines, and stickers. There might have also been a few sticks of gum hidden between the pages of those magazines. While my camp days are long behind me, my mom’s care package days are not. I still come home some days and find a little blue sticker – the adult equivalent to my little white package slip. The magazine and comic books have been replaced by newspaper articles, the stickers replaced by clothes, and the gum replaced with homemade granola. Yes it’s that good to ship across the country.

So when the hubby and I used up the last of our granola last week I knew it was time. Time to figure out how to create my mom’s amazing granola. She always told me it was pretty easy to make, but having recreated many of her recipes before I took her advice with a grain of salt. Could something so delicious be that ridiculously easy to make? The short – yes.

It took her many batches and lots of tweaking but the results are pure deliciousness. There are certain things you make in your kitchen that make you feel special. Recreating my mom’s granola recipe in my kitchen made me smile. What makes me smile even more? That she will be here in a few days to taste it herself.

Barefoot Contessa’s Cherry, Almond and Cinnamon Granola (seriously adapted)

2 cups of old-fashioned rolled oats

1 cup of shredded coconut

1 cup of sliced almonds

1/2 cup of dried cherries, chopped

1/4 cup of dried cranberries, chopped

1/4 cup of vegetable oil

2.5 tbsp of good honey

1 tsp of ground cinnamon

 

Preheat the oven to 350

 

Toss the oats, almonds, and coconut together in a large bowl. Pour the vegetable oil and honey over the oat mixture. Add the cinnamon, and stir with a wooden spoon until the oat mixtures if fully coated with the liquids.

Spread the the mixture on a large cookie sheet and bake for roughly 1o minutes, stirring every 2 to 3 minutes, until the mixture is a light, golden brown. Remove from the oven and toss the cherries and dried cranberries into the mixture. Let cool and store in an airtight container.

We love enjoying it with some yogurt and fruit.

 

 

One thought on “Homemade Granola

  1. Dad and I are packed, boarding passes printed and ready for a relaxing, fun filled vacation with our favorite SF kids. Last time we were there, it was filled with stress, tears and sleepless nights. Now we can’t wait to enjoy great food, wine and just enjoying you both. We will eat your delicious granola with organic yogurt and berries for breakfast. I know it’s made with much love:-)

Leave a Reply

