Life Happens . . .

I have thought about this post for months. How would I break the silence that has taken over this blog for close to five months? What would I write about? Would it be about food? Would it be about life? Or maybe just a bunch of nothing?

My mother always told me “You can have all the money in the world, but if you don’t have your health you might as well have nothing.” I’ll be honest, I always agreed with her but never fully understood what she meant. I can now say with confidence that she is right, like she usually is.

I had made some lofty new year’s resolutions this year and while none of them stuck, I am happy to know that I will have many more years ahead of me to make more resolutions. A few months ago we weren’t sure if that would be the case.

I never imagined myself as the sick wife, daughter, sister, friend but then again does anyone?  It’s amazing how quickly your world can flip upside down; I am just so lucky to have such an amazing support system to have helped me keep it some what right side up these past few months. Love you guys! What a crazy ride it has been.

While I still have my lofty dreams, these days I stick to my small wins and feeling a little bit better every day. After a long day of work and a trip to the grocery store I was so excited to cook myself a totally delish dinner without the help of my hubby or anyone else.  For me, that was my win of the day.

The other is that my sister agreed to guest blog!!!  She is an amazing cook and an amazing sister and I know you will love what she is cooking up on the east coast.

Pan Roasted Salmon with Bok Choy and Mushrooms (an original recipe)

Serves 1

1 4oz filet of King Salmon (skin removed)

1 baby bok choy, sliced into 1-inch pieces

1/3 cup of sliced mushrooms

1 tbsp  of vegetable oil

3/4 tbsp toasted sesame oil

Heat 1/2 tbsp of vegetable oil in a non-stick skillet over medium high heat. Pat the salmon dry and season with salt & pepper. When the oil is hot and starts to shimmer place the salmon in the skillet with the skinned side up and cook for 3 to 4 minutes depending on thickness. Flip the salmon and cook on the other side until the salmon starts looking opaque for 1 to 2 minutes more for medium.

Simultaneously heat the other 1/2 tbsp of vegetable oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and saute for 2 minutes. Add the bok choy and saute until it begins to wilt.  Add in the toasted sesame oil and toss to coat for 30 seconds.

Plate and enjoy.  I stuck with water but I think this dish would pair really well with a well-balanced Chardonnay. Some favs of mine Breggo Chardonnay Anderson Valley or Creme de Lys Chardonnay.

One thought on “Life Happens . . .

  1. Yay Jess! So glad you are getting back to full strength. LOVE the recipes and especially the food photography! You are an inspiration in so many ways!

Leave a Reply

