What a year it has been

I can’t believe another year has come and gone. What is so amazing to me is how slow time seems to move when you are a kid and how quickly it moves when you are an adult – if only you knew that the last birthday you would look forward to was your 21st.

While I hate NYE as a holiday (sorry its just over hyped with way too much expectations) there is something so refreshing about a new year. It allows you the possibility to start over and to create new hopes and dreams for the upcoming year.

2011 was definitely a year – my little sister got married, my brother-in-law got engaged, my hubby and I survived year one of marriage, I found a new job that I actually love, and I started this blog. Needless to say I was busy. As I look forward to the new year it will be a little hard to top 2011 but I already have some ideas in mind and they are definitely around food, writing, and wine! So that new job I started – its with a wine company in Napa. AMAZING! It has definitely been keeping me busy but also teaching me a ton, so look out for some wine pairing and suggestions with my upcoming posts.

Just because I have been so busy doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking up a ton in my kitchen (I just might not have had the time or energy to write about it). So I thought I would start off 2012 recapping some of my fun cooking memories from 2011 (not previously shared in other posts).

  • I made my first pumpkin pie from scratch!  Yes it is that beauty at the top of this post and it was delicious. It was for a pot luck at the new office and from what I could tell there were no left overs. I used Alice Waters’ recipe and while I was cursing myself as a whisked milk for a good 15 to 20 minutes over heat (thank you crossfit classes) it was totally worth it in the end.

  • I made this beautiful apple and pear galette and yes it tasted as delicious as it looked! Real Simple I ❤ U.

  • I had the AMAZING opportunity of being a test kitchen guest for my friends Warren & Rachel’s Thanksgiving trial. Warren has to be one of the BEST cooks I know – the potatoes were delish, his chicken two ways ridiculously good, but the kicker was the homemade pumpkin bread pudding and homemade ice cream. Warren’s ice cream would give bi-rite in SF a run for its money – yes it is really that good. Check out his blog:  http://eatstuff.tumblr.com/

  • Last, but certainly not least, was cooking in my favorite kitchen with my favorite chef – my mom. I was so excited to be able to make it home for Thanksgiving and help my mom cook up this delicious Thanksgiving day feast. We started with home-made currant scones and finished with a traditional T-day dinner: Ritz Cracker Stuffing, sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, corn souffle, and roast turkey. Yum! It was definitely up there with some of my favorite days of 2011.

Here’s to a great 2011 and an even better 2012.

Leave a Reply

