Fusilli with Kale and Sausage

I’m back!  So sorry for the radio silence. I had such high hopes for Thanksgiving week – I had a whole slew of posts lined up -from our trial friendsgiving to the real Thanksgiving feast prepared in my favorite kitchen with my favorite cook! But alas life happened.

Just because I wasn’t writing didn’t mean that there was not magic (or debacles) happening in our kitchen. I thought for my first post back I would start with what is now a staple winter dish in our house.

A few summers ago the hubby and I subscribed to a CSA box. Every Friday the contents of our box would be posted online and we would plan out our weekly meals based on its contents. It was so much fun to have fresh squash, tomatoes, strawberries, and other delicious fresh vegetables delivered to right to our door. As fall approached we noticed the contents of the box becoming a bit more routine and by our first winter I was up to my eyes in kale, chard and cabbage. None of which I had ever cooked before.

I was at a loss – what to do with all these leafy vegetables? My cookbooks were of little help and I was forced to make the same recipes over and over again. I mean how many times can you eat stewed chard with tomatoes and garlic or buttered cabbage? But what was really just throwing me was the kale. I couldn’t really find any recipes and the ones I did find were pretty awful. That is until I had dinner at a my friend’s house and she made the most delicious kale recipe I had ever had.

How do you get kale to taste AMAZING? Serve it with sautéed sausage, onions and pasta. It might not be the healthiest way to eat kale but I have to say it is probably one of the yummiest. I was so excited about my new discovery that I think I cooked up the same recipe for my hubby later on that week. Since then it has become our winter pasta staple. Not only because it is delicious but also because it is a pretty easy recipe to make. Alice Waters you truly are a genius.

Fusilli with Kale and Sausage (adapted from The Art of Simple Food)

Serves 2

1/2 large bunch of kale

1/4 lb Italian sausage, casing removed

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 large onion, sliced thin

salt

Fresh-ground black pepper

A pinch of dried chile flakes

1/2 lb fusilli

extra-virgin olive oil

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Trim and wash the kale. Chop coarse and cook until tender in salted boiling water. Drain well, saving the cooking water to cook the pasta in.

Form the sausage into small balls. Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a heavy-bottomed pan. Add the sausage and cook over medium heat until browned and cooked, through about 6 to 8 minutes.

Remove the sausage and add the onions to the pan. Saute, tossing now adn then, over medium-high heat until the onions soften and caramelize a bit. Season with salt, pepper, and chile flakes.

Add the cooked greens and sausage and cook or a few minutes, tossing and stirring. Taste for salt and adjust as needed.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil a

Leave a Reply

