Personal Pear Crisp with Oat Topping

I know people who love to bake. They will spend hours in the kitchen kneading dough, watching souffles rise, and perfecting their pie crust recipes. I am jealous.

I am in love with the idea of baking but when it comes down to it I find it daunting. Plus what to do with an entire cake for just the two of us?  You can not just simply half a baking recipe like you do a chicken recipe.

So the hubby and I have succumb to store-bought cookies, pints of ice cream, and an occasional treat from the bakery down the street that has totally caught on to the new mini dessert trend.

A few Fridays ago (yes I am behind on blog posts) the hubby and I were just exhausted from our weeks. Rather than head out for date night we decided to stay in.

Comfy clothes + yummy cheese + delicious olives + good wine + perfectly cooked steaks + french fries = AMAZING

Some great company might also had something to do with it.

For the perfect end to our perfect date night I was dying to try this recipe for pear crisp in my Cooking For Two cookbook. A fortuitous trip to Cost Plus World Market earlier that day for work, not only taught me a thing or two about the wine retail market but also allowed me to find the allusive 12oz ramekin. I was so excited I bought 4!

As the hubby cleaned up dinner (I cook he cleans) I started pulling together our pear crisps. Not only was this recipe super easy but it also was amazingly delicious. Even better, I didn’t have to share my portion with my hubby. He is a good sharer but sometimes if something is soo good, like this was, he just devours it, leaving me to fight for my share.

Yes they were as delish as they look. If only the movie we got from Netflix to watch that night was as good as advertised.

Pear Crisp with Oat Topping (Cooking for Two 2009)

Serves 2

2 tbsp granulated sugar

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

1/4 tsp cornstarch

Salt

2 ripe, but firm Bartlett pears peeled, halved, cored, and cut into 1 1/2-inch chunks

3 tbsp finely chopped pecans

1/4 c unbleached all-purpose flour

2 tbsp light brown sugar

1/8 tsp ground cinnamon

Pinch ground nutmeg

3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1/4 c old-fashioned oats

Adjust the oven rack to the lower-middle position and heat the oven to 425 degrees. Whisk 1 tbsp of granulated sugar, lemon juice, cornstarch, and a pinch of salt together in a medium bowl. Gently toss the pears with the sugar mixture and divide evenly between two 12-once ramekins.

Mix the nuts, flour, brown sugar, remaining 1 tbsp granulated sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a pinch of salt together in a medium bowl until combined. Drizzle the melted butter over the top, add the old-fashioned oats and combine until the mixture resembles crumbly wet sand. Pinch between your fingers into small pea-sized pieces (with some smaller loose bits).

Sprinkle the topping evenly over the pears, breaking up any large chunks. Place the crisps on a rimmed baking sheet and bake until the filling is bubbling around the edges and the topping is deep golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes, rotating the baking sheet halfway through baking. Let the crisps cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

