Chicken with Shallots

There are many great things about writing my food blog.  Here are a few of my favs:

  1. I no longer have to make the same meal every week because it is my hubby’s new favorite.  “Sorry I wrote about that recipe last week and need new material for the blog – I promise I will make it again soon.”
  2. I am finally using all the cookbooks that took up an entire cabinet in our city apartment so I know longer get asked “Can we donate these to Good Will because you never use them?”
  3. I now know more ways to cook chicken and that makes me smile.  There is nothing worse than bland, dried out chicken breasts.

Chicken always seems to be the protein of choice in our house. It used to get chopped up for stir fry, flattened out for chicken parmesan, or simply made into chicken cutlets. That was it. So when I find a new way to make our favorite protein I get so excited, especially when it comes out as delicious as this recipe did.

I know I said in an earlier post that I was done with the boneless, skin on chicken breasts because they dry out.  Well I went back for more, I think secretly hoping that I was wrong. And I have never been so happy to be proven wrong. Perhaps it was user error (would not be surprising) or a faulty recipe (also would not be surprising) last time, but this time I finally found my go to recipe for cooking boneless, skin on chicken breasts. It’s a two stage process but worth the minimal effort.

Ina advertised it as “good enough for the fanciest company but easy enough to make for a quick dinner.” I couldn’t agree more Ina – this one definitely passed the restaurant quality test. I served it with some roasted cauliflower and brussel sprouts. The oven was already at 425 F for the chicken so I simply halved / quartered the brussel sprouts (depending on their size), cut the cauliflower into florets, tossed with olive oil and salt, and placed on a baking sheet in the oven for 20 minutes.

Chicken with Shallots (adapted from Barefoot Contessa How Easy is That?)

Serves 2

2 boneless chicken breasts, skin on

Kosher salt and black pepper

1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil

1/4 c dry white wine

2 1/2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice (1/2 a lemon)

1/2 cup minced shallot

1 1/2 tbsp heavy cream

2 tbsp unsalted butter, diced, at room temperature

 

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Pat the chicken breasts dry with paper towels and sprinkle them generously on both sides with salt and pepper. In a 12-inch cast-iron skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat for 2 minutes, until it begins to smoke.  Place the chicken breasts, skin side down, in the skillet and cook for 4 to 5 minutes without moving, until golden brown.

Using tongs, turn the chicken breasts skin side up, place the skillet in the oven and roast for 12 to 15 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through. (Ina recommends 6 to 8oz sized chicken breasts you will probably need cook on the longer side if larger or thick)

Meanwhile, in a medium saute pan, combine the white wine, lemon juice, and shallots and cook over medium-high heat for about 5 minutes, until only 2 tbsp of liquid remain in the pan. If reduces too much, add an extra splash of white wine or water. Add the cream, 1 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper and bring to a full boil. Remove the heat, add the diced butter, and swirl the pan until the butter is incorporated. Don’t reheat or the sauce will “break”!

Serve the chicken hot with the sauce spooned over it.


Leave a Reply

