Apple Pie

I recently discovered how much I really love pie. I mean is there anything better than delicious fruit, baked with sugar, and all in flaky warm crust?  Well I guess yes, with a scoop of ice cream on top! But honestly I am a fruit dessert girl and pie is definitely a fav.

So what could better than making my favorite dessert with one of my favorite fruits, apple? Not much. Well I guess if it was my mom making it.

Feeling over-confident in my kitchen these days (thanks hubby for all the amazing words of encouragement), I decided to take on making dinner for 10+ people at our house last week. Rather than farming out dessert like I usually do I took it on myself with my very first apple pie!


Most of the dinner featured apples. If this was an episode of Iron Chef the secret ingredient would have most definitely been apple! More to come on those dishes later on this week.

Shockingly my mom does not have an apple pie recipe that she loves and there were none in my cookbooks! So to the internet I turned and found a recipe on allrecipes.com (not a usual place I turn) but the recipe I found had 5 stars almost 4,000 reviews and over 100,000 people had saved it. I figured this one HAD to be good.

The recipe did not include a recipe for the pie crust. The debate: buy prepared pie crust or find a recipe and make my own. I so desperately wanted to do the latter but after much persuasion by many friends (and family) to not go this route, including a pastry chef at Whole Foods, I figured I should just stick with the prepared crusts this time. Thank you everyone for the great advice.

There is definitely a reason why this recipe had almost 4,000 5 star reviews. (1) It happens to be one of the easiest pie recipes I have ever (helped) make; (2) It turned out absolutely delicious, although a little heavier than I would like; (3) does it need a third? (yes I feel weird not doing thing in 3’s).

The one interesting thing about this recipe is that you do not coat the apples with lemon juice and cinnamon like I am used to. Rather you assemble the pie and pour a butter and sugar mixture over the entire pie. This creates the most amazing, crispy, sugary crust. Yum!


Apple Pie Recipe by Grandma Ople (from allrecipes.com)

1 recipe pastry for a double 9 inch pie crust

1/2 cup unsalted butter

3 tbsp all-purpose flour

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar (I used light)

8 Granny Smith apples – peeled, cored, and sliced

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Melt the butter in a saucepan. Stir in flour to form a paste.  Add water, white sugar, and brown sugar. Bring to a boil and reduce temperature to let simmer.  (I didn’t leave it too long for fear that the mixture would burn, I yanked it when it turned a nice caramel color)

2. Place the bottom crust in your pan. Fill with apples, mounded slightly. (I found that I didn’t use all my apples) Cover with a lattice-work crust. Gently pour the butter/sugar liquid over the crust and be careful that it does not run off.

3. Bake 15 minutes in the preheated oven. Reduce heat to 350 and bake for another 35 to 45 minutes until the apples are soft (mine only took 35 minutes).

I would let the pie cool before serving it as it is pretty soupy when it first comes out of the oven but it firmed up pretty nicely after it cooled.  You could easily add some cinnamon and other spices to this recipe. I might even add some more flour next time to create more of a paste because the 1 tablespoon doesn’t fully cut it.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

