A Farewell To Summer

I had big plans to post my kitchen salute to the end of summer on the official first day of fall (last Friday). As I am learning, life happens, and so I find myself writing all about the end of summer when it is far from it in California. The sun is shining and my iPhone tells me it is 89 degrees in San Francisco!

Fall has always been my favorite season, I love to watch the leaves change color from green to shades of bright orange, red, and yellow. I love the cool crispness in the air and seeing your breath when you go out for an early morning run. I love that there are apples everywhere (more on that later on this week). Fall might not be quite the same on the west coast, well at least not San Francisco, but it is still my favorite season because it truly is when San Francisco shows what a beautiful city she is.

So in honor of the end of summer and beginning of fall the hubby and I opened up some beers, fired up the George Foreman and had ourselves a little urban BBQ.

The hubby was on burger duty again and this time he made a delicious combination: dark turkey meat, an egg, breadcrumbs, minced garlic, and sliced basil.

We topped it off with some more shredded basil, avocado (my favorite!) and some romaine hearts. To complete the perfect good-bye-summer-meal we boiled up some corn and cooked up some french fries.

We toasted good-bye to summer, hello to fall and dug in. The burgers did not disappoint. The corn, however, totally gave away that summer was hours from being over. No amount of butter could save its blandness. We decided to put it aside and look forward to the squash, eggplant, chard, and kale in our future. Bring on fall!

Leave a Reply

