Halibut with Pesto & Roasted Tomatoes

Between all of our whirlwind travel the past few weeks I somehow missed that it became fall.

We were driving to a friend’s house on Saturday.  As we cruised along the tree-lined street in the suburbs I noticed that the leaves on the trees were no longer green but a golden-yellow.  “Is it really fall,” I turned the hubby and asked.

“I guess so,” he responded.

Growing up on the east coast you had a warning that fall was coming: you cleaned out your closets to replace your shorts and sundresses with sweaters and pants, air-conditioning was no longer needed to sleep through the night, and you needed a jacket when you left the house in the morning.

I am starting to learn what the signs of fall are in San Francisco: you can break out the summer clothes that have laid dormant in your closet all year-long, you get to wake up to sunshine every morning, and take in amazing sunsets every night (no fog!).

So rather then cuddle up on the couch with a warm blanket, a new sweater, and a cup of hot apple cider, I find myself baring my legs in skirts, going for long runs outside, and drinking white wine. Bring on the SF summer.

So in honor of our little SF summer I perused a farmer’s market this weekend and found myself planning meals that featured one of the last remaining fresh vegetables of summer: tomatoes!

The stands were selling the most delicious looking heirloom tomatoes and I simply couldn’t resist.  I mean what says summer more than an heirloom tomato caprese salad complete with fresh basil and mozzarella?  It was delicious and the perfect start to our meal.

Next the halibut and my very first and own fish recipe!

Our house is stock full of tomatoes from the heirlooms I couldn’t say no to at the farmer’s market to the pint of heirloom cherry tomatoes at Whole Foods.

I love roasting the cherry tomatoes they come out absolutely delicious and are the greatest topping for a simple pasta dish. But we weren’t in the mood for pasta and so came to be:  Halibut with Pesto and Roast Tomatoes.

First preheat the oven to 400 degrees F and clean and dry a quarter pint of cherry tomatoes.  Toss them with olive oil, salt, and pepper and place on a cookie sheet.  Place in the oven for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile heat a nonstick saute pan over medium-high heat.

Pat dry the halibut and season with salt & pepper.

Add 1/8 of an inch of olive oil to the saute pan and heat (but do not allow it to smoke). When hot add the halibut, skin side down, to the saute pan and let cook for 7 to 8 minutes (depending on thickness).

If fillets are super thick (like ours were), rotate onto each side for an extra minute. So top for a minute and each side for a minute. Cooking time of 10 to 11 minutes total.

When fish is done put on plate, add roasted tomatoes and top all with pesto. I used some leftover homemade pesto but I am sure you can use store-bought.

It was perfectly delicious. My fish might have been slightly overcooked but the hubby’s was just perfect. Score 1 for an original recipe.

Try it out and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

