Chicken Frances with Sautéed Spinach

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts used to be my go-to protein when I was first learning to cook. I wouldn’t cook fish and red meat was not a strong point. For some reason I was terrified of bone-in, skin-on chicken or, gasp, roasting a whole chicken. So boneless, skinless chicken breasts it was (oh and veggie burgers) and I made the same few recipes over and over again – chicken parmigiana, chicken stir-fry, and chicken fingers.

Shockingly, I was totally content in my comfort zone cooking the same food, the same way over and over again. In fact, if it wasn’t for this blog my hubby would have gotten what he wanted for dinner, chicken picatta. But I just couldn’t recycle a recipe, not yet, so off I searched for a new boneless, skinless, chicken cutlet recipe. I have to say that there aren’t too many out there, or at least not in my cookbooks. So I sort of created this one on my own, as in substituted chicken cutlets for veal scallops.

I guess I could have gone the veal scallop route but (1) I wasn’t sure that Whole Foods sells veal and (2) I was traumatized by a vegetarian counselor at sleep away camp who explained to me in excruciating detail how veal was made after I had just devoured my veal wheels. Enough said.

I used my favorite trick to get the chicken cutlets perfectly thin – slice them in half length-wise and pound with a mallet to the desired thinness. Pat them dry, then coat them in flour and dip in the Rao’s Seasoned Egg Batter.  Ok I was a little skeptical over what kind of difference a seasoned egg batter could make, those Rao’s cooks are genius.  Add a little salt, pepper, and a decent amount of pecorino cheese – yum!

For 2, heat a 1/2 a cup of vegetable oil in a large saute pan over medium high heat and add the chicken. Brown on both sides and only turn once.

Drain the excess oil from the pan and return it to the heat. Add 3/4 cup of dry white wine, the juice of one lemon and bring to a boil. Swirl in a 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of butter.

Remove the chicken to a serving platter, raise the heat and whisk in another 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of butter until well incorporated and sauce thickens. Pour over the chicken and serve. It was delicious! It also went perfectly with some spinach sautéed until wilted with a little olive oil.

Leave a Reply

