Miso Cod with Shitakes and Edamame

I always love it when a recipe makes you look like a serious chef. This is totally on of those recipes!
Miso Cod for a Monday night dinner? Aggressive you would think, but it is actually so much easier than I thought. Shopping for all the ingredients, not so easy. Even worse I put the hubby on Sunday food shopping duty while I ran other errands. Apparently mirin and miso paste are not the easiest ingredients to find in Whole Foods. Bright side, we now have a fully stocked pantry for any Japanese cooking I could ever imagine wanting to do.
Now that I have become more comfortable cooking fish I am always looking for new recipes to try and new fish to conquer. Every time I perused the fish counter at Whole Foods I would see the cod sitting there and dream of making miso cod, but I just never had the guts (or even a recipe that I thought I could remotely conquer).
Feeling totally guilty over the fact that I purchased a cookbook 6 months ago and had yet to make 1 recipe from it, I was determined to find this week’s fish recipe in it. Then I saw it – Poached Cod with Shitakes and Edamame. I was a little concerned with the word “poached.” As the only fish I remember ever eating “poached” is salmon and let’s just say it’s not my most favorite. But as I read through the recipe I realized it was really a recipe for miso cod in disguise. With less than 10 minutes of cooking time and very little prep I was sold.
As hoped, it was an incredibly easy recipe to make and quite delicious. Plus you can’t get much healthier than a dinner of fish, miso, and veggies. The hubby thought it was a little light on the salt – shocking given the miso and soy sauce in it but I probably would agree with him on that. It was missing something. I will have to expand my knowledge of Japanese cooking to figure it out. Or you can try it (recipe below) and let me know.
Poached Cod with Miso, Shitakes, and Edamamae (adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Cooking for Two 2009)
2 tsps vegetable oil
4 oz shitake mushrooms, stemmed, and sliced 1/4 in thick
1 cup shelled frozen edamame, thawed
1/2 cup water
2 tsps soy sauce
2 tsps mirin
2 garlic cloves, smashed and peeled
1 (1-inch) piece, fresh ginger, peeled, sliced into 1/4-inch-thick-coins, and smashed
2 (6 oz) cod fillets, 1 1/4 inches thick (can also substitute haddock or halibut)
2 tsps red miso paste (can also substitute white, brown, barley, or brown rice miso but do not use light)
1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil
1 scallion, sliced thin
Heat vegetable oil in a skillet over medium heat until shimmering. Add the mushrooms and cook until lightly browned about 3 to 4 minutes. Transfer the mushrooms to a bowl.
Add the edamame, water, soy sauce, mirin, garlic and ginger to the skillet. Pat the cod dry, salt, pepper, and add to the skillet, nestling among the edamame. Spoon some liquid over the cod. Bring to a gentle simmer, cover, and cook over medium-low heat for 5 to 7 minutes. The fish should be opaque and flake when prodded with a knife.
Remove the fish from the skillet and place each in a shallow serving bowl. Remove and discard the garlic and ginger. Add the mushrooms back to the skillet with the miso and sesame oil cooking until the miso dissolves and the mushrooms are warmed through about 30 seconds.
Using a slotted spoon, transfer the vegetables to the bowls with the fish. Pour the hot broth over the fish and sprinkle with scallions.
Leave a Reply

