Oven Roasted Chicken in a Skillet

Confession #1: This dinner was actually made last Wednesday night.

In my defense, it was a busy week – playing hostess with the mostess, learning how to bustle my sister’s wedding dress, and preparing for my first camping trip.  You get the point.

Confession #2: I wish I could take credit for this beautiful looking bird but I can’t. Inspired by the blog, my mom and sister bought the latest Cook’s Illustrated and did some menu planning of their own on the plane ride over.  Nice work guys, it was delicious.

So how did they make this gorgeous looking chicken? In a skillet in the oven believe it or not! I’ll admit it, I was a little skeptical of what was going to happen to my nice looking All Clad skillet when they were done. Gladly I was proven wrong, basically the chicken roasted in its own juices, making it one of the juiciest roast chickens any of us had eaten all while preventing the skin and fat from baking onto the skillet.

First we rubbed the chicken with some olive oil and this great poultry salt we picked up from Napa Style in Yountville earlier in the week. Secured the wing tips underneath the bird and tied up its legs, then placed it breast side up in a preheated 12 inch skillet. Into the oven it went at 450 degrees for 25 minutes. We turned the oven off and let the chicken sit for another 25 minutes. Then out it came and rested on a cutting board for the last 20 minutes. I wouldn’t necessarily call it “Weeknight Roast Chicken” because I generally think its ambitious to take on 70 to 90 minutes of cooking time in the middle of the week.  But this was definitely up there with one of the easiest and most delicious roast chickens made. Sorry roasting pan, you have a worthy adversary for roasting duty.

In addition to learning the skillet trick, I picked up another great cooking tip from my mom for making mashed sweet potatoes. First, roast the potatoes in the oven at 350 for an hour on a cookie sheet with aluminum foil. Then take the pan out of the oven and wrap the sweet potatoes in the aluminum foil. Let them cool so that you can handle them. Then easily peel the skin off and mash the potatoes with a little butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. So easy, right?

Thanks ladies for keeping me full and laughing all week!

Leave a Reply

