Everything Cookies

Typical summer days returned to SF today. The fog dug in its claws and held on to the coast all day, keeping the sky gray, the air damp, and the temp cold. Out came the cashmere sweater, jeans and fleece. It was a typical East Coast fall day in the middle of summer. I am sure my fam on the East Coast would have given anything for a day like this considering the heat they have been dealt this summer. So rather than complain about it, I embraced my gray fall day in July, cozied up in my apartment, read through cookbooks, and baked cookies.

Not just any cookies. My new fav – Everything Cookies. I totally made up the name for the cookies but I think it describes them perfectly. Think of every cookie that you love and then think of the best way to combine them and this is exactly what this cookie is. So I can’t fully take credit for the recipe, my mom managed to negotiate the recipe from one of her students. Then we both tried it, adapted it, and bring on the Everything Cookie.


It is the perfect blend of the chocolate chip cookie, the oatmeal raisin cookie, and the peanut butter cookie, with a twist of course. It is also happens to be pretty easy to make and makes your apartment smell delicious.

First you the combine the peanut butter, butter, vanilla, egg, and white and brown sugar.

In a separate bowl mix the flour, oatmeal, baking soda, and salt.

Blend the two and then add in the chocolate chips and dried cranberries (sooo much better than raisins).

Using a tablespoon, make the dough into little rounds but do not flatten, and then bake.

I learned that they cook pretty quickly and deceptively do not look cooked on top but are definitely brown on the bottom.

 Yum!

Leave a Reply

