Sunday Celebrity Fish Tacos

Dear celebrities – I promise never to gawk, yell, stalk, or stare next time I see you.  Scouts honor.

We spent our weekend down in LA visiting family.  While we didn’t really have any great celebrity sightings of our own I apparently gave a car full of girls their amazing celebrity sighting this morning!

Out for a walk with my hubby and father-in-law, I was wearing my “don’t-I-look-like-a-celebrity” Fedora hat and aviator sunglasses to protect me from the sun.  Apparently it caused some confusion for a car full of girls, who drove by us shrieking and clearly excited about something.  It wasn’t until one of them stuck their head out of the car screaming that we realized the excitement was directed at us.  My father-in-law immediately said “wasn’t me,” which left my hubby, who I think looks like Patrick Dempsey and me duking it out for who looked more like a celebrity.  I won.  That Fedora hat was worth the 20 bucks.

I love my hubby for many reasons beyond the fact that he looks like Patrick Dempsey and one of those is that he loves to make food shopping lists and menu plan.  So while I spent our time in the airport catching up with friends he planned out our meals for the week.

Tonight’s dinner – Fish Tacos.  These have never been cooked in our kitchen before and I didn’t have my cook books to turn to.  He likes to ad lib much more than I do but with my boost of self-confidence today I thought – “this can’t be that hard to figure out.”  I was right – it really wasn’t and it was delicious!

The Rock Fish looked really good at Whole Foods this evening so we bought a few filets, cut them up and marinaded them for half an hour in olive oil, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper.

Then we sauteed them in a non-stick skillet over medium heat.

But what really made the dish was the mango avocado “salsa.”  We are huge fans of avocado on tacos so it was definitely one of the toppings planned for our topping bar.  But then I saw the mangoes on sale and they looked yummy – so the idea of mango salsa was born.

I cubed the avocado and mango, mixed them together with salt and pepper, and squeezed some lime on top.  It could have used a little heat but otherwise proved to be the perfect accompaniment to our fish tacos.

This will definitely be a repeat meal.  Hot sauce is already on the list for our next shopping trip.

Leave a Reply

